
THE WEST VIRGINIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES
GRIEVANCE BOARD

TERRY SPROUSE, et al.,
Grievants,

v. DOCKET NO. 2015-0207-CONS

LEWIS COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION,
Respondent.

DECISION

This grievance was filed by Terry Sprouse and twenty-five other employees1 against

their employer, the Lewis County Board of Education, on August 21, 2014.  The statement

of grievance at level three reads, “Grievants contend that the Respondent did not

compensate them for time worked in excess of the daily work day of six hours.  Grievants

allege a violation of county policy.”  As relief Grievants sought, “compensation for all hours

worked over and above the six hour daily work day with interest.”

 A conference was held at level one on September 15, 2014, and a level one

decision was issued on October 6, 2014.  That decision granted part of the grievance,

which at that time included several other issues which were either resolved by that decision

or at a later date.  The decision denied the grievance with regard to the issue of

compensation for time worked in excess of six hours a day. Grievants appealed to level

1  The other Grievants are Garry Alderman, Charles Dennis Bailey, Dwayne Brown, 
James Coffield, Doug Davisson, Chuck Everitts, Steve Finster, Robert Francis, Steven
Freda, Tommy Gettings, Robert Grose, Jason Hawkins, Charles D. Krafft, Brad Lewis,
Sonny Metz, Gerry Paugh, Robert Stewart, Jr., Jim Stutler, Joseph W. Taylor, Ronald
Taylor, Sam West, Anna Wimer, Doris Workman, John Shaffer, and James R. Stutler.



two on October 15, 2014, and a mediation session was held on March 16, 2015.  Grievants

appealed to level three on June 23, 2015.  A level three hearing was held before the

undersigned Administrative Law Judge on February 3, 2016, at the Grievance Board’s

office in Westover, West Virginia.  Grievants appeared by their representatives, Jeremy

Radabaugh, West Virginia Education Association, and John Everett Roush, Esquire, West

Virginia School Service Personnel Association, and Respondent was represented by

Denise M. Spatafore, Esquire, Dinsmore & Shohl, LLP.  This matter became mature for

decision on March 14, 2016, on receipt of the last of the parties’ Proposed Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law.

Synopsis

Grievants claim that, because Respondent has a policy in place which states that

the “normal workweek” for a Bus Operator is 30 hours, Grievants are entitled to additional

compensation for time worked over 30 hours in a week.  Respondent’s policy does not in

any way provide for such additional compensation, nor have Grievants demonstrated that

they are by law entitled to such additional compensation.  Respondent did not prove its

assertion that the grievance was untimely filed, based on the fact that the policy at issue

has been in place for many years.  The grievance was timely filed as it was not a challenge

to the policy, but rather, a claim for additional pay, which was timely filed under both the

continuing practice exception and the fact that Grievants had only recently realized they

were not being compensated for any hours they worked over 30 hours in a week.

The following Findings of Fact are properly made from the record developed at  level

three.
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Findings of Fact

1. Grievants are employed by Respondent, the Lewis County Board of

Education (“LBOE”), as full-time Bus Operators.

2. Respondent has a policy in place entitled Policy 3.47 Service Personnel

Wage and Hour Policy, which was last amended effective July 1, 2007.  This Policy states

that  “[t]he purpose of this policy is to ensure that the LCBOE complies with the overtime

provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), regulations of the U.S. Department of

Labor, Employment Standards Administration Wage and Hour Division, and all applicable

state statutes and regulations related to the compensation of full-time and part-time

employees.”  This Policy further states that “[a]ll full-time employees of the Board are

expected to work a 40 hour workweek each week.  Board employees may regularly and

routinely be scheduled to work less than a 40 hour workweek; however, the Board retains

the right to request an employee to perform his/her duties up to 40 hours during a

workweek without additional compensation.”  This Policy states that the normal workweek

for a Bus Operator is 30.0 hours, “[u]nless the workload for the week requires an individual

to work additional hours.”  (Emphasis added.)

3. Grievants all have different work schedules, which are primarily dependent

on the length of their regular runs.  An individual Bus Operator may also be required to put

in additional time to deal with a student disciplinary issue or random drug testing. 

Grievants are paid for working six hours a day, five days a week, whether they work five

hours or seven hours.  About half the Bus Operators in Lewis County work more than 30

hours a week, every week, performing their regular bus assignments and related duties,
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and some Bus Operators in Lewis County work less than 30 hours a week.  Bus Operators

in Lewis County receive additional pay for extra-duty and extra-curricular runs.

4. Lewis County bus operators, including all Grievants, are paid for overtime

hours worked in excess of 40 hours per week on a blended rate basis, which calculates the

pay of each employee for their various different assignments, including the employee’s

regular full-time assignment, extracurricular assignments, and extra duty assignments.

5. In addition to driving buses, Bus Operators in Lewis County must also attend

various meetings, watch videos from their buses, report for physicals, report for random

drug-testing, wash the buses, and attend student disciplinary conferences related to

student misconduct while on the driver’s bus.

6. Those Grievants who testified regarding when they became aware of the fact

that they were not being compensated for the hours worked between 30 and 40 hours per

week, were not aware of this fact until shortly before the grievance was filed.

Discussion

Respondent first asserts that the grievance was not filed within the time period

allowed by W. VA. CODE § 6C-2-4, and therefore the grievance must be dismissed.  When

an employer seeks to have a grievance dismissed on the basis that it was not timely filed,

the employer has the burden of demonstrating such untimely filing by a preponderance of

the evidence. Once the employer has demonstrated a grievance has not been timely filed,

the employee has the burden of demonstrating a proper basis to excuse his failure to file

in a timely manner. Higginbotham v. W. Va. Dep't of Pub. Safety, Docket No. 97-DPS-018

(Mar. 31, 1997); Sayre v. Mason County Health Dep't, Docket No. 95-MCHD-435 (Dec. 29,
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1995), aff'd, Circuit Court of Mason County, No. 96-C-02 (June 17, 1996). See Ball v.

Kanawha County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 94-20-384 (Mar. 13, 1995); Woods v. Fairmont

State College, Docket No. 93-BOD-157 (Jan. 31, 1994); Jack v. W. Va. Div. of Human

Serv., Docket No. 90-DHS-524 (May 14, 1991).  “If proven, an untimely filing will defeat a

grievance, in which case the merits of the case need not be addressed.  Lynch v. W. Va.

Dep't of Transp., Docket No. 97-DOH-060 (July 16, 1997).”  Carnes v. Raleigh County Bd.

of Educ., Docket No. 01-41-351 (Nov. 13, 2001).

West Virginia CODE § 6C-2-3(a)(1) requires an employee to "file a grievance within

the time limits specified in this article."  West Virginia CODE § 6C-2-4(a)(1) identifies the

time lines for filing a grievance and states:

Within fifteen days following the occurrence of the event upon which the
grievance is based, or within fifteen days of the date upon which the event
became known to the employee, or within fifteen days of the most recent
occurrence of a continuing practice giving rise to a grievance, an employee
may file a written grievance with the chief administrator stating the nature of
the grievance and the relief requested and request either a conference or a
hearing. . . .

The time period for filing a grievance ordinarily begins to run when the employee is

“unequivocally notified of the decision being challenged.” Harvey v. W. Va. Bureau of Empl.

Programs, Docket No. 96-BEP-484 (Mar. 6, 1998); Whalen v. Mason County Bd. of Educ.,

Docket No. 97-26-234 (Feb. 27, 1998).

Respondent argues that the LBOE policy setting the work week for bus operators

at 30 hours has been in effect for many years, and that Grievants have been aware of the

30 hour work week for bus operators for many years.  Grievants, however, are not

challenging the 30 hour work week.  They are challenging Respondent’s failure to pay
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them for hours worked in excess of 30 hours per week.  While Grievants were aware of the

Policy for many years, those Grievants who testified regarding when they became aware

of the fact that they were not being compensated for the hours worked between 30 and 40

hours per week, stated they were not aware of this fact until shortly before the grievance

was filed.  While this may seem incredible given that some of the Grievants have been

employed by Respondent for many years, when asked how they could not have been

aware of this, Grievants explained that they have extra-duty runs and extra-curricular runs

for which they receive additional compensation, and their pay stubs do not state clearly

what they are being paid for and are confusing, so they did not realize they weren’t being

paid for these hours worked.  The grievance was timely filed.

One exception to timely filing is the continuing practice exception. Misclassification,

for example, is a continuing practice; however, it is well-settled that, where the employer

raises the defense of timeliness in such a case, the right to back pay is limited to ten days

preceding the filing of the grievance.  Martin v. Randolph County Bd. of Educ., 195 W. Va.

297, 465 S.E.2d 399 (1995); Craig v. W. Va. Dep’t of Health and Human Resources,

Docket No. 98-HHR-334 (June 24, 1999).  In addition, the “‘Grievance Board has

consistently recognized that, in accordance with Martin v. Randolph County Board of

Education, 195 W. Va. 297, 465 S.E.2d 399 (1995), disputes alleging pay disparity are

continuing violations, which may be grieved within fifteen days of the most recent

occurrence, i.e. the issuance of a paycheck.  See Haddox v. Mason County Bd. of Educ.,

Docket No. 98-26-283 (Nov. 30, 1998); Casto v. Kanawha County Bd. of Educ., Docket No.

95-20-567 (May 30, 1996).’  Fleece v. Morgan County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 99-32-090
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(Aug. 13, 1999).”  See v. Dep’t of Educ., Docket No. 03-DOE-047 (June 25, 2003).  In

Blon/Exline v. West Virginia University, Docket No. 07-HE-152 (June 16, 2008), the

undersigned concluded that Respondent’s interpretation of its holiday pay policy was a

continuing practice, which recurred each time the grievants were required to work a

holiday.  In King, et al., v. Lewis County Board of Education, Docket No. 2014-0456-CONS

(August 26, 2015), the undersigned ruled that the application of Respondent’s Dress Code

was a continuing practice, which recurred each time the Dress Code was applied to an

employee.  Even were the Grievants challenging the Policy itself, the grievance was timely

filed within 15 days of the most recent application of the Policy which adversely affected

Grievants.

As this grievance does not involve a disciplinary matter, Grievants have the burden

of proving their grievance by a preponderance of the evidence.  Procedural Rules of the

Public Employees Grievance Bd. 156 C.S.R. 1 § 3 (2008);  Howell v. W. Va. Dep't of

Health & Human Res., Docket No. 89-DHS-72 (Nov. 29, 1990).  See also Holly v. Logan

County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 96-23-174 (Apr. 30, 1997);  Hanshaw v. McDowell County

Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 33-88-130 (Aug. 19, 1988).  "The preponderance standard

generally requires proof that a reasonable person would accept as sufficient that a

contested fact is more likely true than not."  Leichliter v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human

Res., Docket No. 92-HHR-486 (May 17, 1993).

Grievants pointed to no law, rule, regulation, or policy which sets the number of

hours an employee is to work, other than LBOE’s Policy 3.47.  WEST VIRGINIA CODE § 18A-

4-8 sets the minimum salary and class titles for school service personnel, based on the pay
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grade to which the class title is assigned and years of service, for a 200-day minimum

employment term.  This CODE § states with regard to hours worked:

the minimum monthly pay for each service employee whose employment is
for a period of more than three and one-half hours a day shall be at least the
amounts indicated in the State Minimum Pay Scale Pay Grade and the
minimum monthly pay for each service employee whose employment is for
a period of three and one-half hours or less a day shall be at least one-half
the amount indicated in the State Minimum Pay Scale Pay Grade set forth
in the subdivision.

Other than the three and one-half hour threshold, it does not address the number of hours

a school service employee is to work in order to be paid the minimum salary.

Grievants’ argument that they must be paid for hours worked in excess of 30 during

a week is based on the language of Policy 3.47 which states that a Bus Operator’s “normal

workweek schedule” is 30 hours, and suggest that any time worked in excess of 30 hours

constitutes volunteer work, because the Policy states that Board may “request an

employee” to work up to 40 hours, and that they must be paid for this volunteer work

because “[t]he policy forbids an employee from volunteering to work without

compensation,” citing to Section 3.47.15.  Grievants, however, have conveniently ignored

the language of the Policy which states quite clearly that full-time employees “are expected

to work a 40 hour workweek,” full-time employees may routinely “work less than a 40 hour

workweek,” and the Board may ask an employee to work “up to 40 hours during a

workweek without additional compensation.”  Very clearly, this Policy does not in any way

indicate that a Bus Operator is only supposed to work 30 hours a week, that he or she

must be paid for hours worked over 30, or that if Respondent needs an employee to work

more than 30 hours a week the employee retains the right to decline that request and if the

employee agrees to the request, the employee is somehow volunteering his or her time to
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the cause.  The Policy states clearly that although Bus Operators normally work a 30 hour

workweek, they may work up to 40 hours a week without additional compensation.  

Grievants know that every Bus Operator in every county in the state has a different

work schedule based on the run or runs the Bus Operator has chosen to bid on and

accept, and that they are paid a set salary, regardless of the number of hours it takes to

complete the run or runs.  Grievants did not demonstrate that Respondent has violated any

statute, regulation, rule, policy or practice, or that they are otherwise entitled to additional

compensation when they work between 30 and 40 hours in a week.

The following Conclusions of Law support the Decision reached.

Conclusions of Law

1. When an employer seeks to have a grievance dismissed on the basis that

it was not timely filed, the employer has the burden of demonstrating such untimely filing

by a preponderance of the evidence. Once the employer has demonstrated a grievance

has not been timely filed, the employee has the burden of demonstrating a proper basis

to excuse his failure to file in a timely manner. Higginbotham v. W. Va. Dep't of Pub.

Safety, Docket No. 97-DPS-018 (Mar. 31, 1997); Sayre v. Mason County Health Dep't,

Docket No. 95-MCHD-435 (Dec. 29, 1995), aff'd, Circuit Court of Mason County, No. 96-C-

02 (June 17, 1996). See Ball v. Kanawha County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 94-20-384 (Mar.

13, 1995); Woods v. Fairmont State College, Docket No. 93-BOD-157 (Jan. 31, 1994);

Jack v. W. Va. Div. of Human Serv., Docket No. 90-DHS-524 (May 14, 1991).  “If proven,

an untimely filing will defeat a grievance, in which case the merits of the case need not be
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addressed.  Lynch v. W. Va. Dep't of Transp., Docket No. 97-DOH-060 (July 16, 1997).” 

Carnes v. Raleigh County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 01-41-351 (Nov. 13, 2001).  

2. West Virginia CODE § 6C-2-3(a)(1) requires an employee to "file a grievance

within the time limits specified in this article."  West Virginia CODE § 6C-2-4(a)(1) identifies

the time lines for filing a grievance and states:

Within fifteen days following the occurrence of the event upon which the
grievance is based, or within fifteen days of the date upon which the event
became known to the employee, or within fifteen days of the most recent
occurrence of a continuing practice giving rise to a grievance, an employee
may file a written grievance with the chief administrator stating the nature of
the grievance and the relief requested and request either a conference or a
hearing. . . .

The time period for filing a grievance ordinarily begins to run when the employee is

“unequivocally notified of the decision being challenged.” Harvey v. W. Va. Bureau of Empl.

Programs, Docket No. 96-BEP-484 (Mar. 6, 1998); Whalen v. Mason County Bd. of Educ.,

Docket No. 97-26-234 (Feb. 27, 1998).

3. One exception to timely filing is the continuing practice exception.

Misclassification, for example, is a continuing practice; however, it is well-settled that,

where the employer raises the defense of timeliness in such a case, the right to back pay

is limited to ten days preceding the filing of the grievance.  Martin v. Randolph County Bd.

of Educ., 195 W. Va. 297, 465 S.E.2d 399 (1995); Craig v. W. Va. Dep’t of Health and

Human Resources, Docket No. 98-HHR-334 (June 24, 1999).  In addition, the “‘Grievance

Board has consistently recognized that, in accordance with Martin v. Randolph County

Board of Education, 195 W. Va. 297, 465 S.E.2d 399 (1995), disputes alleging pay

disparity are continuing violations, which may be grieved within fifteen days of the most
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recent occurrence, i.e. the issuance of a paycheck.  See Haddox v. Mason County Bd. of

Educ., Docket No. 98-26-283 (Nov. 30, 1998); Casto v. Kanawha County Bd. of Educ.,

Docket No. 95-20-567 (May 30, 1996).’  Fleece v. Morgan County Bd. of Educ., Docket No.

99-32-090 (Aug. 13, 1999).”  See v. Dep’t of Educ., Docket No. 03-DOE-047 (June 25,

2003).  In Blon/Exline v. West Virginia University, Docket No. 07-HE-152 (June 16, 2008),

the undersigned concluded that Respondent’s interpretation of its holiday pay policy was

a continuing practice, which recurred each time the grievants were required to work a

holiday.  In King, et al., v. Lewis County Board of Education, Docket No. 2014-0456-CONS

(August 26, 2015), the undersigned ruled that the application of Respondent’s Dress Code

was a continuing practice, which recurred each time the Dress Code was applied to an

employee.

4. The grievance was timely filed.

5. As this grievance does not involve a disciplinary matter, Grievants have the

burden of proving their grievance by a preponderance of the evidence.  Procedural Rules

of the Public Employees Grievance Bd. 156 C.S.R. 1 § 3 (2008);  Howell v. W. Va. Dep't

of Health & Human Res., Docket No. 89-DHS-72 (Nov. 29, 1990).  See also Holly v. Logan

County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 96-23-174 (Apr. 30, 1997);  Hanshaw v. McDowell County

Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 33-88-130 (Aug. 19, 1988).  "The preponderance standard

generally requires proof that a reasonable person would accept as sufficient that a

contested fact is more likely true than not."  Leichliter v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human

Res., Docket No. 92-HHR-486 (May 17, 1993).
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6. WEST VIRGINIA CODE § 18A-4-8 sets the minimum salary and class titles for

school service personnel, based on the pay grade to which the class title is assigned and

years of service, for a 200-day minimum employment term.  Other than setting a three and

one-half hour per day threshold, it does not address the number of hours a school service

employee is to work in order to be paid the minimum salary.

7. Grievants did not demonstrate that Respondent violated any statute,

regulation, rule, policy or practice, or that they are otherwise entitled to additional

compensation when they work between 30 and 40 hours in a week.

Accordingly, this grievance is DENIED.
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Any party may appeal this Decision to the Circuit Court of Kanawha County.  Any

such appeal must be filed within thirty (30) days of receipt of this Decision.  See W. VA.

CODE § 6C-2-5.  Neither the West Virginia Public Employees Grievance Board nor any of

its Administrative Law Judges is a party to such appeal and should not be so named. 

However, the appealing party is required by W. VA. CODE § 29A-5-4(b) to serve a copy of

the appeal petition upon the Grievance Board.  The appealing party must also provide the

Board with the civil action number so that the certified record can be prepared and properly

transmitted to the Circuit Court of Kanawha County.  See also 156 C.S.R. 1 § 6.20 (2008).

    ______________________________
      BRENDA L. GOULD

Date: April 1, 2016 Administrative Law Judge
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